School Supply Shopping Ain’t for the Weak of Heart

Posted: August 6, 2012 in Munchkins, Minions, Hellions...
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

There are a few things that They forgot to tell me about having a kid in school. Now that my oldest minion is in first grade, the school supply list is apparently an important thing…and quite specific. They also neglected to mention that as fun as school supply shopping sounds, it’s not for the faint of heart.

By the way, They are the same They who forgot to send home my owner’s manual when I left the hospital with my newborn minions…

A few days ago, I took my daughter shopping for school supplies…realizing too late that I’d arrived at Wal-Mart at 5pm on a Friday, and not just any Friday but the last one of the month a week after school supply lists were released.

So I was in Wally World with a few thousand other people on the same mission I was. I stood in a knot of people vying for the last Batman Backpack, thanking the powers that be for giving me a girl…there was an abundance of Hello Kitty.

She was worried about being the only child in class without all the “right” stuff. It reminded me of a conversation I’d had with her midway through Pre-K, where she informed me that she needed some Sketchers. I’d replied that she had tons of shoes in every style imaginable.

“But MOM,” she wailed, “do you WANT me to have no friends!?”

I was catapulted back in time to somewhere in junior high to the day I realized I was the only one in class without the socially-required shiny new Trapper Keeper. She got the Sketchers, and I’ve wondered since why that particular Tween-angst vice had to start so early.

Couldn’t they wait until junior high or even high school to start worrying about these things??

Thanks to my own sympathy in the situation, we spent two hours in Wal-Mart last week, searching out the perfect supplies. Who knew that something as simple as a spiral notebook would require ten minutes of pondering what might be coolest this year?

I spent a couple minutes explaining to some clueless woman that the “2 8CT Crayons” on her list meant “two boxes of crayons that have 8 in EACH box” and not some special new-age Crayola 2.0 that the stores must have sold out of.

I dodged 6 children under the age of 4 (Where is your mother!?), and one Yorkie (Seriously, in Wal-Mart?).

There’s a bruise on my hip from the third shopping-cart hit-and-run.

Half my paycheck disappeared across a pile of supplies that I can’t imagine are absolutely necessary. I mean, come on…zip-lock bags have been on the list since Pre-K, and my child has come home with something in a baggie maybe twice. 20 or so kids in class, the boxes all contain around 20 bags, so what are these teachers doing with the 400 zip-lock bags each year???

I also learned an important lesson. When it was all over, and I was scrubbing my hands with Germ-X in the parking lot and wishing I had bought some aspirin, I looked over at my daughter’s beaming face and realized something…it was totally worth it.

 

Originally printed (by me!!!) in the Briscoe County News.

www.briscoecountynewsonline.com

Comments
  1. It gets easier as they get older! The list goes way down! My daughter (minion) is now in 6th grade and only had a half page list! Ahhh it was heaven! I would suggest that once you see school supplies being put out to buy them then. I would always look up my daughter’s school online and find the list so I never had to shop when everyone else was!

    • Sparky says:

      Thank you for the advice, I’ll definitely try to get out there earlier next year! Alas, it was my own fault this time around…I work for the local newspaper and actually had a head start on the list, but didn’t take advantage! 🙂

      • Oh and never go on tax free day/weekend…I know you save money but just don’t lol! Unless you are buying clothes but the school supply aisles on tax free weekend are worse then Walmart during Black Friday. OMG! I saw parents arguing, kids running around, kids crying, people screaming at each other, and almost fist fights over the last (insert supply here). it’s insane lol!

      • Sparky says:

        Ooooh, yes! I HIDE from the world on tax-free weekend and black Friday…usually on a blog post, griping about rampant idiocy! hehee

Leave a Reply

